NMLI inaugural graduates receive scholarships

The New México Leadership Institute will present 29 college-bound students with $25,000 scholarships during a banquet this weekend to celebrate the completion of a year-long leadership program.

“These scholars will always have a special place in my heart as the inaugural NMLI class,” said Daniel Burrell, founder of the Leadership Institute. “Each one of our graduates has developed leadership skills that will give them the ability to take every advantage of their college education.”

Burrell and NMLI partnered with the University of New México and New México State University to select this year’s 32 students, who were chosen among nearly 300 highly qualified applicants. Over the past year, students have worked with renowned faculty, state and national leaders and engaged in a wide variety of community service programs and personal challenge assignments. The program is designed to encourage young leaders to remain in New México after they graduate.

“Through training and mentorship, the program will improve high school graduation rates, advance college enrollment and cultivate an entrepreneurial curiosity in NMLI Scholars for addressing New México’s social, business and public sector challenges,” Burrell said.

In addition to the scholarships, students will be paired with a faculty member to help them better navigate the challenges and demands of higher education.

“Mr. Burrell’s incredible $25,000 grant is truly giving me the opportunity to pursue a high level of education at the University of New México,” said Gabriel Gallegos, who recently graduated from Las Cruces High School. “The scholarship is an amazing gift to my family and myself, but it is even more a huge investment in the future leaders of Néw Mexico.”

The inaugural NMLI class is completing a week-long summer academy at UNM, which culminates with a banquet on June 28. Burrell will present students with the scholarships at the banquet.

Students to be honored: Livier Arevalo-Diaz – Pojoaque Valley, Daniela Armendariz – South Valley Academy, Priscilla Artalejo – Gadsden High School, Giovana Bermudez – Gadsden High School, Kaleb Kleckler – Capitan High School, Erica Duran – Mayfield High School, Kelley Espinoza – Gadsden High School, Shayna Gallacher – Carrizozo High School, Gabriel Gallegos – Las Cruces High School. Jessica Gonzalez – Lordsburg High School, Brian Hemminger – Melrose High School, Kristin Kelley-Goen – Onate High School, Esai Lopez – Gadsden High School, Hanny Makk – Las Cruces High School, Joylynn Martinez – Pojoaque Valley, Lauren McCubbins – Pojoaque Valley,  Sarah McEachern – Artesia High School, Janna Mills – Cimarron High School, Maurine Morris – Taos High School, Marissa Perez – Amy Biehl High School, Kevin Prieto – Las Cruces High School, Kylee Rice – Cliff High School, Reagan Riggs – Goddard High School, Jorge Salinas – West Mesa High School, Tessa Snyder – Los Alamos High School, Cory Stevens – Goddard High School, Sydney Stuart – Moriarty High School, Crystal Smith – Belen High School, Pierce Hemphill – La Cueva High School

Visit www.newmexicoleadership.org to learn more about NMLI and its programs, to make a financial donation, or to get involved as a Workforce Partner.

Mindshare LabsNMLI inaugural graduates receive scholarships